k1 and Kathy’s Knits in Edinburgh

edinburgh-k1knitshop-smlk1 yarns on the W Bow in Edinburgh… (the blue shopfront on the left..)

While waiting for it to open I found an amazing bookshop “The Golden Hare” so pretty and so many cool books.. *le sigh* (on the W Bow as well, just on the right side from where this picture was taken…)

I did visit Kathy’s knits on Broughton Street as well but sadly I forgot to take a picture of it. (The shopfront wasn’t as picturesque as this one and it is located below floors…).

k1 is a very pretty shop with wooden floors and a wide selection of knitters knick knacks – you’ll probably find anything you could want there. I had to hold myself back and only bought two wooden crochet hooks and two packs of stitch markers (one as a gift for a friend and one for myself). I bought a two balls of sock yarn there but didn’t want to spend too much there. At Kathys knits there was a very big yarn selection and I had trouble deciding. In the end I bought two yarnpony skeins, one with the intention to knit a hat for my sister and one for myself.

The funny part is, that was in my beginning stages as a knitter and I didn’t want to spend too much on yarn or buy too many skeins because I was afraid of not being able to knit it up. (Let me tell you, that inclination has changed in the past two and a half years since my edinburgh trip! Another visit to Edinburgh and the yarnshops would probably do considerable damage to my budget…

 

K 1 Yarns & Knitting Boutique, W Bow, Edinburgh EH1 2JP,

Kathy’s Knits, 64 Broughton Street, Edinburgh EH1 3SA

(November 2013)

Leave a Reply

