It’s a flaming-oh!

flamingopillow-sml.jpg

My second project from the pattern book I knit the hat out of. Acutually the first but the second to make it here.

While stitching in the flamingo was hard – keeping track of where in the bird you are – knitting took so long and so much patience! It was just knitknitknit purlpurlpurl knitknitknit purlpurlpurl… I often put it away and did nothing for a week or two so it took a long time to finish. I stitched up the inside pillow out of scrap fabric and stuffed it with leftover stuffing my mother had from we don’t remember what. And to finish it I covered some cardboard in fabric to creat grey buttons.

And that is my completely self made pillow.

Most importantly, the yarn I used is so super soft you don’t want to let go. I can’t remember what it’s made of but mohair played a part… The pink, black and white were from my scrap stash.

It should be a square pillow but it’s rectangular for one very important reason: I ran out of yarn… I still have a teeny tiny bit left but I wanted to bind off without playing too much yarnchicken. Learned that expression recently, I really like it ^^)

– isn’t my bookshelf pretty?

 

[October 2015]

Leave a Reply

